

17th St. & Constitution Avenue N.W. Washington, D.C. 20006
United States of America

## Organization of American States

P. 202.458.3000 www.oas.org

Antiqua and Barbuda

Argentina

The Bahamas

Barbados

Belize

Bolivia

Brazil

Canada Chile

Colombia

Didilioid

Costa Rica

Cuba Dominica

Dominican Republic

Dominican Repu

Ecuador

El Salvador

Grenada

Guatemala

Guyana

Haiti

Honduras

Jamaica

Mexico

Nicaragua Panama

Paraguay

Peru

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Suriname

Trinidad and Tobago

United States of America

Uruguay

Venezuela

## **INFORMATIVE BULLETIN Nº 16**

MEETING OF THE SELECTION BOARD OF THE SPECIAL FUND TO SUPPORT THE ELABORATION OF THE AMERICAN DECLARATION OF THE RIGHTS OF INDIGENOUS PEOPLE

The Selection Board of the Specific Fund to Support the Elaboration of the American Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous People met on October 13th, 2008, to review and approve the list of Indigenous Representatives and leaders who are beneficiaries of the Specific Fund to take part at the Twelveth Meeting of Negotiations in the Quest for Points of Consensus.

The Meeting of Negotiations will take place at OAS Headquarters (Simón Bolívar Room, 17th and Constitution Ave, Washington, DC) from Monday, November 30 to Wednesday, December 2, 2009. It will be preceded by the meeting of the Indigenous Peoples' Caucus, to be held on November 27 to 29, 2009.

The Selection Board of the Specific Fund was composed of Ambassador José E. Pinelo, Permanent Representative of Bolivia to the OAS and Chair of the Working Group; and three representatives of the Caucus Jaime Enrique Arias, Representative for South America; Carlos Chex, Representative for Central America; Charles Williams, representative for The Caribbean; and Rex Lee Jim, representative for North America. Furthermore, two members of the staff of the Department of International Law were acting as technical secretariat of the Selection Board.

The Selection Board adopted its decisions in accordance with the OAS Permanent Council resolution CP/RES. 951 (1691/09), which regulates the Specific Fund to Support the Elaboration of the American Declaration of Rights for Indigenous People. After considering all the nominations submitted by the indigenous organizations of the OAS member states, the Board selected the following representatives:

Argentina: Natalia Silvina Sarapura. Barbados: Damon Gerard Corrie. Belize: Anita Felicia Tzec.

Bolivia: Sergio Rosario Hinojosa Singuri.

Bolivia: Adolfo Chávez Beyuma.

Brazil: Azelene Inácio.

Brazil: Sebastião Alves Rodrigues Manchinery.

Canada: Ronald Lameman. Chile: Magdalena Choque Blanco.



17th St. & Constitution Avenue N.W. Washington, D.C. 20006
United States of America

## Organization of American States

P. 202.458.3000 www.oas.org

Antiqua and Barbuda

Argentina
The Bahamas
Barbados
Belize

Bolivia Brazil Canada

Chile Colombia Costa Rica Cuba

Dominica

Dominican Republic

Ecuador El Salvador

Grenada Guatemala

Guyana Haiti Honduras Jamaica Mexico Nicaragua

Panama Paraguay Peru

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Suriname

Trinidad and Tobago United States of America

Uruguay Venezuela Colombia: Ana Manuela Ochoa Arias. Costa Rica: Hugo Lázaro Estrada.

Dominican Republic: Clenis Tavárez María. Ecuador: Raúl Clemente Ilaquiche Licta. Ecuador: Teresa Jimbicti Pandama.

El Salvador: Jesús Amadeo Martinez Guzmán. Guatemala: Rigoberto Antonio García Maldonado.

Guatemala: Arnoldo Yat Coc. Mexico: Celerino Felipe Cruz. Nicaragua: Hazel Law.

Panama: Héctor Huertas González. Paraguay: Vidal Servin García. Peru: Heraclio Hugo Tacuri Huamani.

Peru: Miguel Palacín Quispe.

Sant Vincent & The Grenadines: Paul E. Lewis.

Suriname: Josien Aloema-Tokoe.

United States: Liselote Naniki Reyes Ocasio.

United States: June L. Lorenzo.

Uruguay: Ana María Barbosa Oyanarte. Venezuela: Carlos Eduardo Somera Gomez.

At the event, it was also decided that the Specific Fund will cover the participation costs of the Indigenous representatives of the Selection Board: Carlos Chex, representative of the Central America; Charles Williams, representative of The Caribbean; Rex Lee Jim, representative of North America; and Jaime Enrique Arias Arias, representative of South America.

Finally, the Selection Board agreed that the selected representatives will be required to confirm their participation in advance and in writing to the XII Meeting of Negotiations in the Quest for Points of Consensus. Failure to adhere to this commitment, or absence at the event without justified reason, will obligate participants to make up for the costs incurred in the purchase of their airline tickets. All of the selected representatives will be contacted directly by the Department of International Law of the OAS to facilitate their travel arrangements.

Sincerely,

Luis Toro Utillano Senior Legal Advisor Department of International Law Secretariat for Legal Affairs