Media Center

Press Advisory


Activities Wednesday, November 10 in the Framework of the 51st Regular Session of the OAS General Assembly

  November 9, 2021

  • Dialogue of the heads of delegation, the Secretary General, and the Assistant Secretary General with the heads of delegation of the permanent observers


    In this virtual meeting, the highest authorities of the OAS will exchange points of view with the foreign ministers of the region and heads of delegation on the main theme of the assembly “Towards Renewal in the Americas.” They will also discuss the COVID-19 pandemic, human rights, democracy, and security - among other topics.

    WHEN: Wednesday, November 10, 09:00 EST (14:00 GMT) a 11:45 EST (16:45 GMT).

    WHERE: OAS website, official Facebook and YouTube pages


  • Press Conference 51st OAS General Assembly

    The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Guatemala, Pedro Brolo; the Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), Luis Almagro; and the Assistant Secretary General of the OAS, Nestor Mendez will host a virtual press conference on Wednesday, November 10 at 12:00 EST (17:00 GMT) to discuss the topics and expectations for the 51st Regular Session of the OAS General Assembly, which will take place between November 10 to 12 in virtual format with Guatemala as the host country.

    Representatives of the media who are interested in participating will be able to send their questions before and during the press conference. Journalists are asked to identify themselves and the media that they represent.

    • To send questions before the press conference write to oaspress@oas.org
    • To send the questions during the press conference, there will be an option available during the transmission
    • To follow the conference and to ask questions journalists can connect here

    This link is exclusive for media representatives.

    The press conference will be broadcast live - with interpretation in Spanish, English, French and Portuguese- on the OAS website, official Facebook and YouTube pages

    WHEN: Wednesday, November 10 November 12:00 EST (17:00 GMT)

    WHERE: Link for media, OAS website, official Facebook and YouTube


  • Inaugural session 51st OAS General Assembly


    The Organization of America States (OAS) will hold, in virtual format with Guatemala as the host country, the 51st Regular Session of its General Assembly between November 10 to 12 under the theme “Towards Renewal in the Americas”.

    This meeting, to which all the foreign ministers of the Hemisphere are invited, is the highest political body of the OAS and its decisions will serve as a guide for the activities and priorities of the regional body during the coming year. The Assembly is in charge of defining the policies and mandates of the OAS, as well as the structure and functions of its organs.

    WHEN: Wednesday, November 10 November 15:30 EST (20:30 GMT)

    WHERE: : Link for media, OAS website, official Facebook and YouTube

    Reference: AVI-151/21