Press Release

IACHR Assigns Rapporteurships

September 8, 2016

   Related links
   Contact info

IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9001
[email protected]

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) decided to make changes to the distribution of Country Rapporteurships. The IACHR is composed by the President, James Cavallaro; the First Vicepresident, Francisco Eguiguren; the Second Vicepresident, Margarette Macaulay; and Commissioners José de Jesús Orozco Henríquez, Paulo Vannuchi, Esmeralda de Troitiño and Enrique Gil Botero. The Executive Secretary is Paulo Abrão and the Assistant Executive Secretary is Elizabeth Abi-Mershed.

The Rapporteurships are now distributed as follows, and takes effect at the time of the publication of this press release:

Commissioner James L. Cavallaro: Rapporteur for Belize, Canada, Honduras, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago; Rapporteur on the Rights of Persons Deprived of Liberty.

Commissioner José de Jesús Orozco Henríquez: Rapporteur for Colombia, Costa Rica, Grenada, Haïti, Panama and Saint Kitts and Nevis; Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders.

Commissioner Paulo Vannuchi: Rapporteur for Bolivia, Paraguay and Peru; Commissioner responsible of the Unit on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights.

Commissioner Margarette May Macaulay: Rapporteur for Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Dominica, El Salvador, United States, Guyana, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Rapporteur on the Rights of Women and Rapporteur on the Rights of Afro-descendants.

Commissioner Esmeralda Arosemena de Troitiño: Rapporteur for Cuba, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia and Suriname; Rapporteur on the Rights of Children

Commissioner Francisco José Eguiguren Praeli: Rapporteur for Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay and Venezuela; Rapporteur on the Rights of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans, and Intersex (LGBTI) Persons, and Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Commissioner Enrique Gil Botero: Rapporteur for Barbados, Chile, Guatemala and Mexico; Rapporteur on the Rights of Migrants.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 128/16