Press Release

IACHR Announces Schedules of Public Hearings for its 159th and 160th Sessions

November 17, 2016

   Related links

Schedules of hearings 159 and 160

Next sessions

Sessions held

   Contact info

IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9001
[email protected]

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) today is posting its schedules of public hearings that will take place during its 159th Period of Sessions, to be held in Panama, and its 160th Extraordinary Period of Sessions, in Washington, D.C.

The hearings in Panama will take place December 1, 2, 5, 6, and 7 during the morning hours, and working meetings will be held December 2 and 5 in the afternoon, at the Radisson Decapolis Hotel, located on Avenida Balboa-Multicentro, in Panama City, Panama. The special session in Washington, D.C., will take place December 9-10, with the hearings held on December 9 at IACHR headquarters.

In keeping with Article 68 of the IACHR Rules of Procedure, the hearings will be public. Anyone interested may attend, subject only to space restrictions in the hearing room, and no prior registration is required.

This year the Inter-American Commission faced a severe financial crisis that forced it to suspend the two regular sessions it had been scheduled to hold at its headquarters in July and October. The IACHR thanks the State of Panama for its offer to provide funding to hold the second-semester regular session in that country. The IACHR also thanks the United States for providing additional funding that made it possible to organize a special session at Commission headquarters in December, in addition to other activities that are essential for the IACHR to fulfill its mandate.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 167/16