Press Release

IACHR Is Accepting Requests for Hearings for its 166th Sessions

September 13, 2017

   Related links

All requests for public hearings and working meetings should be submitted through the system in Spanish and in English

   Contact info

IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9000

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) invites interested users to submit requests for public hearings for the 166th Extaordinary Session. The hearings will be held on the human rights situation in Canada and the United States, from November 29 to December 7, 2017.

All requests for public hearings and working meetings should be submitted through the system available on the IACHR’s website. The system will be available starting at 9.00 a.m. EST on Wednesday, September 13th, until Wednesday, October 4th, at 11.59 p.m. EST. The ICHR receives requests for hearings on Canada and the United States. Countries may request a thematic hearing as a region using the "Regional - North America" ​​option. This system is the only means to make such requests, and is available in both languages: Spanish and English.

Decisions on applications will be sent to the user after November 8, 2017. The calendar of public hearings will be published on the Commission's website two weeks before the start of the hearings.

The Inter-American Commission holds several sessions a year at its headquarters. The sessions of the IACHR have been constituted in a forum where hundreds of human rights defenders from the region, representatives of civil society organizations, as well as delegations of States constituted by high authorities in the field of human rights , among others.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and defense of human rights in the region, and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 141/17