Press Release

IACHR Is Accepting Requests for Hearings for its 169th Period of Sessions

June 21, 2018

   Related links
   Contact info

IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9000
[email protected]

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) will hold its 169th Period of Sessions in the United States, from October 1th to October 5th of 2018, in the United States, by invitation of the University of Colorado Law School, in Boulder.

Starting today, the IACHR will receive requests for hearings and working meetings. All requests must be submitted via the system available on the IACHR website. The system will be open until Thursday of July 17th, 2018 at 11:59 pm, local time in Washington, D.C. The IACHR will receive requests for hearings and working meetings on any member country of the Organization of American States (OAS). This system is the only means to submit these requests, and it is available in the four official languages of the OAS: Spanish, English, Portuguese y French

Up to one month before the hearings, the IACHR will send the decisions regarding the requests.  The calendar of hearings will be posted on the IACHR Webpage two weeks before the start of the session.

The Inter-American Commission holds several sessions a year, an opportunity that brings together hundreds of human rights defenders from the region, as well as State delegations constituted by high-level human rights officials, academics, among others.

The IACHR thanks the University of Colorado Law School for inviting the Commission to hold sessions in its facilities, expanding access to the Inter-American Human Rights System, bringing new people together and disseminating the work of the IACHR, in that case in a recognized academic environment.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 132/18