Press Release

IACHR Releases Schedule of Public Hearings for 170 Period of Sessions and Calls for Participation in Hearing Ex Officio

November 14, 2018

   Related links
   Contact info

IACHR Press and Communication Office
Tel: +1 (202) 370-9000
[email protected]

   More on the IACHR
A+ A-

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) publishes today the schedule of public hearings that will take place during its 170 Period of Sessions, to be held December 1-7 at its headquarters in Washington, D.C.

The IACHR convened a public hearing on its own initiative (ex officio): “Human Rights Situation of Persons that make part of the Caravan of Migrants.” The Commission welcomes expressions of interest in taking part of this hearings, which should be submitted via the e-mail [email protected], using as Subject line: “Hearing Caravan of Migrants” and must be sent starting today and up to Monday, November 19, 2018, at midnight (time in Washington, D.C.). Pursuant to Article 66 of the IACHR’s Rules of Procedure, anyone interested must properly identify themselves and explain why they would like to take part in the hearings.

The IACHR will announce at a later date the list of organizations and persons summoned, who will need to cover any expenses they incur in to take part in the hearings. The IACHR invites any organizations and persons who are not summoned for these hearings to submit, in writing, any documentation or information they deem relevant to the topic of the hearing.

Pursuant to Article 68 of the IACHR’s Rules of Procedure, the hearings will be public. Anyone interested may attend freely without prior registration, subject only to space restrictions in the hearing room.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 240/18