IACHR grants precautionary measures in favor of Abencio Caicedo and Edinsón Valencia García in Colombia

January 7, 2022

Related links

Contact info

IACHR Press Office

[email protected]

Distribution List

Subscribe to our distribution list

Washington, D.C. - The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) issued Resolution111/2021 on December 31, 2021, by which it granted precautionary measures in favor of Abencio Caicedo Caicedo and Edinsón Valencia García, in Colombia, upon identifying that they are at risk.

The applicants reported that the two persons are Afro-descendants who exercise a leadership role in the Yurumangui river basin, and that from November 28, 2021, to date, there is allegedly no information on their fate or whereabouts. The Commission assessed the actions taken by the State and the information available, finding that there is no substantial information on the fate or whereabouts of the beneficiaries.

Under the terms of Article 25 of its Rules of Procedure, the IACHR requested that the State of Colombia adopt the necessary measures to determine the situation and whereabouts of Abencio Caicedo Caicedo and Edinsón Valencia García, in order to protect their rights to life and personal integrity; and report on the actions taken to investigate the alleged events that led to the adoption of this resolution, so as to prevent such events from reoccurring.

The granting of this precautionary measure and its adoption by the State do not constitute a prejudgment of any petition eventually filed before the inter-American system regarding a possible violation of the rights protected in the applicable instruments.

A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote the observance and defense of human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.

No. 005/22

1:24 PM